Schlichting, Ilme
Ilme Schlichting
Phone: +49 6221 486-500
Fax: +49 6221 486-585

Selected Publications

Aroulanda, C.; Zimmermann, H.; Luz, Z.; Lesot, P.: Enantiotopic discrimination in the deuterium NMR spectrum of solutes with S4 symmetry in chiral liquid crystals. The Journal of Chemical Physics 134 (13), e134502, pp. 1 - 8 (2011)
Schlichting, I.; Almo, S. C.; Rapp, G.; Wilson, K.; Petratos, K.; Lentfer, A.; Wittinghofer, A.; Kabsch, W.; Pai, E. F.; Petsko, G. A. et al.; Goody, R. S.: TIME-RESOLVED X-RAY CRYSTALLOGRAPHIC STUDY OF THE CONFORMATIONAL CHANGE IN HA-RAS P21 PROTEIN ON GTP HYDROLYSIS. NATURE 345 (6273), pp. 309 - 315 (1990)
Schlichting, I.; Berendzen, J.; Phillips, G. N.; Sweet, R. M.: Crystal structure of photolysed carbonmonoxy-myoglobin. Nature 371, pp. 808 - 812 (1994)
Chu, K.; Vojtchovsky, J.; McMahon, B. H.; Sweet, R. M.; Berendzen, J.; Schlichting, I.: Structure of a ligand−binding intermediate in wild−type carbonmonoxy myoglobin. Nature 403, pp. 921 - 923 (2000)
Schlichting, I.; Berendzen, J.; Chu, K.; Stock, A. M.; Maves, S. A.; Benson, D. E.; Sweet, R. M.; Ringe, D.; Petsko, G. A.; Sligar, S. G.: The catalytic pathway of cytochrome P450cam at atomic resolution. Science 287, pp. 1615 - 1622 (2000)

Curriculum Vitae Prof. Ilme Schlichting

Curriculum Vitae Prof. Ilme Schlichting

Education and Training

  • 1979-1987: Heidelberg University, Diploma studies in biology and physics
  • 1987-1990: Heidelberg University, Max Planck Institute for medical Research, Dept. of Biophysics, Ph.D.
  • 1990-1992: Brandeis University, Waltham, USA, postdoctoral fellow
  • 1992-1994: Max Planck Institute for medical Research, Dept. of Biophysics, junior group leader
  • 1994-2002: Max Planck Institute of molecular Physiology, Dortmund, Dept. of Biophysical Chemistry, group leader
  • 2002- : Max Planck Institute for medical Research, Dept. of Biomolecular Mechanisms, director

External Funding

  • 2004-2007: DFG Forschergruppe Blue light photoreceptors FOR 526 (SFB 623)
  • 2005-2009: Molecular Catalysts: Structure and functional Design


  • 2008: Bundesverdienstkreuz
  • 2003: Fellow of the American Physical Society, Carus Medaille, Member of Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina
  • 2000: Corresponding member of the Akademie der Wissenschaften Nordrheinwestfalen; Gottfried-Wilhelm-Leibniz Preis
  • 1998: Ernst Schering Forschungspreis; C3 Position for the advancement of excellent female scientists in the Max Planck Society
  • 1995: Invited visiting professor of Kyoto University
  • 1991: Otto Hahn Medaille; Karl Lohmann Preis
  • 1990: Feodor Lynen Stipend

loading content