Group Leaders

Holmes, Kenneth C.
Kenneth C. Holmes
Fax: +49 6221 486-437
Prof. Dr. Bert Sakmann
Phone:+49 89 8578 - 3695Fax:+49 89 8578 - 3705
Betz, Heinrich
Heinrich Betz
Phone: +49 6221 486-453

Emeritus Groups

Emeritus Groups

Emeritus Group Prof. Dr. Holmes

A primary aim of the Department of Biophysics since its foundation in 1968 has been to understand in physiochemical terms the molecular mechanism by which muscles produce force. Muscle contraction involves the cyclic interaction of the proteins myosin and actin, often pictured as the rowing of the myosin and actin filaments past each other, using the hydrolysis of ATP as a source of energy.


Emeritus Group Prof. Dr. Sakmann

The work of this Emeritus Group focuses on the functional anatomy of circuits in the cerebral cortex that form the basis of simple behavior (e.g. decision making). The group’s aim is the reconstruction of a cortical column in silico, e. g. with a computer. [more]

Emeritus Group Prof. Dr. Betz

More information can be found here [more]
loading content