The institute on social media

Latest Publications

Weiss, M., Frohnmayer, J. P., Benk, L. T., Haller, B., Janiesch, J.-W., Heitkamp, T., Börsch, M., et al. (2017). Sequential bottom-up assembly of mechanically stabilized synthetic cells by microfluidics. Nature Materials, 1–9. London, UK: Nature Pub. Group. Retrieved from
Coquelle, N., Sliwa, M., Woodhouse, J., Schirò, G., Adam, V., Aquila, A., Barends, T., et al. (2017). Chromophore twisting in the excited state of a photoswitchable fluorescent protein captured by time-resolved serial femtosecond crystallography. Nature Chemistry, 1–7. London, UK: Nature Publishing Group.
Deng, J., Zhao, C., Spatz, J. P., & Wei, Q. (2017). Nanopatterned adhesive, stretchable hydrogel to control ligand spacing and regulate cell spreading and migration. ACS Nano, 11(8), 8282–8291. Washington, DC: American Chemical Society.
Fischer, M. G., & Hackl, T. (2016). Host genome integration and giant virus-induced reactivation of the virophage mavirus. Nature, 540(7632), 288–291. London: Nature Publishing Group.


At the MPI for Medical Research, physicists, chemists and biologists create knowledge of long-term relevance to basic medical science. With the arrival of three new directors in 2015/16, the institute has a new unifying theme: observing and controlling the vastly complex macromolecular interactions in the context of cells - both in health and disease. The presently four departments contribute to this goal through their complementary expertise: optical microscopy with nanometer resolution (Stefan Hell), the design of chemical reporter molecules (Kai Johnsson), macromolecular structure determination (Ilme Schlichting), cellular, materials and biophysical sciences  (Joachim Spatz). The institute has a distinguished history of fundamental breakthroughs, evidenced by six Nobel Prizes awarded to its researchers since its foundation. [more]


Save the date<br />19.-22. November 2017

3rd Ringberg Symposium on Giant Virus Biology

Save the date
19.-22. November 2017 [more]
Save the date<br />07. - 10. February 2018

9th Ringberg workshop on Science with FELs

Save the date
07. - 10. February 2018 [more]
loading content