Board of Trustees

To support the institute in a more societal context and advise on scientific policy, a Board of Trustees is assembled for a period of six years. Apart from scientists, the members are representatives from politics and industry. They facilitate the communication between the institute and the public and contribute insights into diverse areas of science, politics and economics.

The Board of Trustees was recently reassembled and currently has twelve members.

MdL Theresia Bauer

Minister, Ministry for Science, Research and Art Baden-Württemberg, Stuttgart


Prof. Dr. Michael Baumann

Chairman and Scientific Director, German Cancer Research Center (HGF), Heidelberg


Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Bernhard Eitel

President, Ruprecht-Karls University, Heidelberg


Dr. Dr. h.c. Peter Goelitz

Former Editor in Chief, Angewandte Chemie, Weinheim


Prof. Dr. Hanns-Peter Knaebel

CEO, Röchling SE & Co. KG, Mannheim


Prof. Dr. Carsten Könneker

Editor in Chief, Spektrum der Wissenschaft, Heidelberg


Dr. Tilman Krauch

Member of the Management Board, Freudenberg SE, Weinheim


Dr. Heinrich Lohstöter

Heinrich Lohstöter Foundation, Munich


Dr. Stefan Oschmann

Chairman of the Executive Board and CEO, Merck KGaA, Darmstadt


Beate Spiegel

Managing Director, Klaus Tschira Foundation, Heidelberg


Nikolaus Turner

Managing Director and Member of the Executive Board, Foundation Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings, Lindau


Dr. Eckart Würzner

Mayor, City of Heidelberg

loading content
Go to Editor View